Billy O’Callaghan

INTERNATIONALLY ACCLAIMED AUTHOR NAMED CORK PERSON OF THE MONTH FOR APRIL

Critically acclaimed Douglas-based author Billy O’Callaghan has been honoured with the April Cork Person of the Month Award. The author is a recipient of multiple awards including the Bord Gáis Energy Book Award, and has previously been shortlisted for the Costa Short Story Award.

O’Callaghan’s collections of short stories and novels have achieved international acclaim, and have been translated into a dozen languages. Speaking about the writer, Booker Prize winning author John Banville said “[Billy] richly reserves an international reputation. The writer is the real thing. He is one of the finest writers in the tradition of John McGahern and Brian Friel.”

Billy O’Callaghan’s latest novel, Life Sentences, published by Jonathan Cape earlier this year, is based on three generations of his own family, who were blighted by famine, war and loss. Amongst its fans are best-selling author Anne Griffin, and RTÉ presenter Ryan Tubridy who said that Life Sentences was his Book of the Year.

Speaking about Billy’s success, awards organiser Manus O’Callaghan said, “Billy’s work has achieved rave reviews from top literature luminaries Robert Olen Butler, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and New York Times bestselling author of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas John Boyne. Billy’s other books, The Boatman and My Coney Island Baby, have also achieved literary acclaim around the world. We’re excited to celebrate Billy’s national and international success with the April Cork Person of the Month Award.”

Billy O’Callaghan’s name now goes forward for possible selection as Cork Person of the Year at the annual Gala Awards Lunch at Rochestown Park Hotel on January 21st, 2022.

https://youtu.be/xGRJE8vJmjk